Home / Carriers / C Spire

C Spire unlock policy in 2026, for the shop holding the phone

Our C Spire services

As STACKS sells them right now. Each row is one service: its condition, turnaround and refund term.

IPHONE

SERVICECONDITIONTURNAROUNDREFUND
Paid off unlockPaid in full and not owed on any account.1 to 3 daysRefund if it fails
Premium unlockAny status, including blocked, unpaid or under contract. Slower and dearer; the condition the service states applies.1 to 7 business daysRefund if it fails

The menu is live from the app and changes without notice. A service that is not listed is not on sale right now. All services.

C Spire is the regional carrier for Mississippi and parts of Alabama and Tennessee, and its stock turns up in buyback bins across the Gulf South. Its rules are short and have not moved since the Device Locking Policy took effect on April 28, 2022 (source). This page sets out what the policy says, what it means for a shop holding a device with no account holder in the room, and how to read lock status on the device itself.

Last reviewed 2026-10-28. Written for shops by STACKS. Not affiliated with any carrier.

Who may ask

The policy opens with the point that matters most to a shop: "For consumer accounts, unlock requests must be submitted by either the account holder or an authorized user on the same account as the device. For business or government accounts, unlock requests must be submitted by an individual authorized on the same account as the device" (source). A request can be made through the self-serve online form or by visiting a C Spire retail location (source). C Spire also "reserves the right to request proof of purchase for any locked device" (source).

Postpaid requirements

For a device on a postpaid account, the policy lists five tests (source):

  1. Sold by C Spire. The device must have been sold by C Spire.
  2. Clean. Not reported as lost, stolen, or associated with fraud.
  3. Account current. On an account in good standing with no past due balance.
  4. 30 days active, 15 on the line. "The device must have been activated for a minimum of 30 days, 15 of which must have been on the line requesting the unlock."
  5. Paid off. "There must not be any outstanding Retail Installment Sales Agreement or Promotional Offer Contract obligations associated with the device."

The 30 day figure is one of the shortest among US carriers; AT&T asks for 60 and the Verizon brands moved to 365 in January 2026. The promotional contract clause is the one to watch: a phone sold on a bill credit promotion carries an obligation even when the installment balance reads zero.

No Contract (prepaid) requirements

C Spire's prepaid rule is measured in service cycles rather than days. The device must have been sold by C Spire, must not be reported lost, stolen or associated with fraud, "must have been active on a line for at least nine paid service cycles", and must have been active on the number requesting the unlock for at least 15 days (source). On a monthly prepaid plan that is roughly nine months, inside the one year ceiling the CTIA Consumer Code allows for prepaid ("no later than one year after initial activation") (source).

Deployed personnel

Service members can unlock early. The device must have been sold by C Spire, be clean, sit on an account in good standing, and "deployment papers must be presented upon request", with the deployment location outside C Spire's operational footprint (source).

What the policy does not say

Three things a shop will want are absent from the official text, so we mark them unverified:

  • Processing time. The policy and the help page give no number of days. Unverified.
  • A waiting period after an early payoff. None is stated. Unverified.
  • Automatic unlocking. The policy describes a request process only; there is no statement that C Spire pushes unlocks when a device qualifies. Unverified.

The policy also warns that "unlocking a device does not guarantee the device will be interoperable with other networks" and "does not release the end user from any financial obligations associated with that device or account" (source).

How to check lock status

C Spire's help page gives a device level check for iPhone: Settings > General > About, scroll to Carrier Lock; "No SIM restrictions" means unlocked and "SIM Locked" means locked to its current carrier (source). For Android it says to contact the current carrier (source). The online request form needs the phone's 15 digit IMEI, found by dialing *#06# (source). C Spire's own bring your own device page summarises AT&T, Verizon and T-Mobile rules for customers switching in, and notes that policies "can differ a lot from wireless company to wireless company" (source).

The trade-in case

The typical buyback situation is a paid off C Spire phone, 30 days long past, and nobody left who is the account holder or an authorized user. C Spire's route is closed to the shop by its own first paragraph, and proof of purchase is something a second owner rarely holds. The value gap between locked and unlocked stock is covered on locked vs unlocked value. Before buying, the financed and blacklisted page explains the free check that catches a device whose original owner stopped paying, because an IMEI reported after the sale stops working everywhere, unlocked or not.

Our C Spire services are listed near the top of this page as STACKS sells them: each row states the condition it applies, the turnaround and whether it is refundable if it fails. A carrier unlock does nothing for Activation Lock; Apple's guidance is not to take a used iPhone that still asks for the previous owner's Apple Account (source).

If it is your own phone

Use C Spire's form or a store. It is free, and a clean device past 30 days with nothing owed qualifies under the policy (source). Unlock STACKS serves approved businesses. See how approval works.

Regulatory context

No federal rule sets C Spire's numbers. The standard the industry follows is the CTIA Consumer Code's six unlocking commitments of February 11, 2014: publish the policy, unlock postpaid devices once the contract or financing is fulfilled, unlock prepaid devices within a year of activation, notify or unlock remotely, act within two business days, and unlock for deployed military (source). The FCC's 2024 proposal for a uniform 60 day rule was still pending when the Bureau waived Verizon's 60 day condition on January 12, 2026 (source).

Questions shops ask

How long before a C Spire phone can be unlocked?

C Spire's Device Locking Policy says a postpaid device must have been activated for a minimum of 30 days, 15 of which on the line requesting the unlock, with no outstanding Retail Installment Sales Agreement or Promotional Offer Contract obligations, on an account in good standing, and not reported lost, stolen or associated with fraud.

Does C Spire unlock prepaid phones?

Yes, under its No Contract rule: the device must have been sold by C Spire, active on a line for at least nine paid service cycles and on the requesting number for at least 15 days, and not reported lost, stolen or associated with fraud.

Who can ask C Spire for an unlock?

For consumer accounts, the account holder or an authorized user on the same account as the device. For business or government accounts, an individual authorized on that account. Requests go through C Spire's online form or a C Spire store.

Can a shop unlock a customer's C Spire trade-in through C Spire?

Not directly: the policy requires the request to come from the account holder or an authorized user, and C Spire may ask for proof of purchase. The C Spire services STACKS sells, with the condition each applies, are listed on this page.

How do I check if a C Spire iPhone is locked?

Settings > General > About > Carrier Lock. 'No SIM restrictions' means unlocked; 'SIM Locked' means locked to the carrier. For Android, C Spire says to ask the carrier.

Sources

  1. C Spire Legal Terms of Use: Device Locking Policy (effective April 28, 2022), accessed 2026-10-28
  2. C Spire Help: Everything you need to know about unlocking your phone, accessed 2026-10-28
  3. C Spire: Device Unlock (bring your own device page, other carriers' rules), accessed 2026-10-28
  4. FCC Wireless Telecommunications Bureau, Order DA 26-43 (Jan 12, 2026), CTIA Consumer Code commitments, accessed 2026-10-28
  5. Apple Support: Activation Lock for iPhone and iPad, accessed 2026-10-28

Last reviewed 2026-10-28. Policies change; the carrier page is the only authority for its policy. Carrier policy is reference: the services we sell are the ones listed above, as STACKS sells them.

RELATED AT&T Cricket and Tracfone / Straight Talk Spectrum T-Mobile All carriers Locked vs unlocked value Financed and blacklisted

APPLY FOR AN ACCOUNTWHATSAPP